Learn users do not need to be created and maintained separately in Learn. By enabling Assure authentication, learners can be managed through Assure and automatically created in Learn when they first access the platform.
This reduces the need to maintain the same learner information in multiple places. Rather than separately updating the learner's Person Register email in Assure, their Assure user account email, and their Learn user email, these records can be kept aligned through just the Assure user.
With this configuration:
- Users can access Learn using their existing Assure credentials, without needing a separate Learn username and password.
- If a user does not already exist in Learn, their Learn account is created automatically when they first authenticate using Assure.
- When an Assure user's email address is changed in Assure, their Learn email address is automatically updated the next time they authenticate to Learn using Assure.
- If all learners authenticate through Assure, the separate Learn email and password login method can be disabled.
Important: To use Log in with Assure, the user must already be logged in to AssureGO+ on the device they are using to access Learn. The button uses their existing AssureGO+ session to authenticate them into Learn.
Both AssureGO+ only users and Assure and AssureGO+ users can use this authentication method.
Prerequisites
To use Assure authentication and be assigned training, each learner must:
- Exist in the Assure Person Register.
- Have an Assure user account, with access to at least AssureGO+.
- Be logged in to AssureGO+ on the device they're using to access Learn.
Users who exist only in the Person Register and do not have an Assure user account cannot authenticate to Learn using this method.
Similarly, if the user is not currently logged in to AssureGO+ on their device, they cannot use Log in with Assure to authenticate into Learn.
Keeping Person Register and Assure user details aligned
Within Assure, a Person Register record can be linked to the corresponding Assure user account. This capability ensures the email address associated with the Person record and user account remains consistent when changes are made.
For instructions on how to set this up, see Linking a Person Register record with a user licence.
When this is used alongside Assure authentication for Learn, you can avoid having to maintain the learner's email address separately across the Person Register, Assure user account, and Learn.
When the user's email address is changed in Assure, the corresponding Learn email address will be updated the next time that user authenticates to Learn using Assure.
Important: The Learn email address is not updated immediately when the change is made in Assure. The update occurs when the user next authenticates to Learn using Assure.
Before you start
To configure Assure authentication, you'll need:
- Administrator access to Learn.
- Your Assure site URL.
Your Assure site URL identifies your:
- Assure stack – UK, UK2, ANZ or NA.
- Customer key.
For example:
https://uk2.sheassure.net/evotixassure
In this example:
- Assure stack: UK2
- Customer key: evotixassure
Configure Assure as an identity provider
- In Learn, navigate to Access Control > Identity Providers.From the Add new identity provider dropdown, select Assure, then select Add.
Enter a Name for the identity provider.
This is the name users will see on the Learn login page, so we recommend something recognisable, such as Log in with Assure.
Configure the Assure connection:
- Select the Assure stack your organisation uses (UK, UK2, ANZ or NA).
- Enter your customer key.
5. Select Submit.
Enable Assure authentication
Once you've created the identity provider, you'll need to enable it as a login option for Learn users.
- Navigate to Access Control > Access Control.
- Under End-user log in providers, ensure Log in with Assure (or the name you gave the identity provider) is selected.
- Select Save.
Assure authentication is now enabled.
What happens when a user signs in?
The next time users visit the Learn login page, they'll see the Log in with Assure button.
Before using the button, the user must have AssureGO+ open on their device and be logged in.
When a logged-in AssureGO+ user selects Log in with Assure:
- Their existing AssureGO+ session is used to authenticate them into Learn.
- They do not need to enter a separate Learn username or password.
- If they don't already exist in Learn, a Learn account is automatically created for them.
- If their email address has changed in Assure, their existing Learn account is updated with their new email address.
This means administrators do not need to manually create a corresponding Learn account or separately maintain the user's email address in Learn.
Note: If you have the AssureGO+ and Learn integration configured, authenticated AssureGO+ users can also access training assigned to them directly through AssureGO+.
Learn more about accessing Learn through AssureGO+
Optional: disable Learn email and password login
If all learners will authenticate through Assure, you can disable Learn's standard email and password login method entirely. This can help avoid confusion by ensuring users only see the authentication method they should use.
To disable email and password login:
- Navigate to Access Control > Identity Providers.
- Find the identity provider with the Email type.
- Disable the Email login method.
Users will then authenticate through Assure rather than using separate Learn login credentials.
Before disabling the Email login method, ensure all users who need to access Learn have access to AssureGO+ and understand that they must be logged in to AssureGO+ on their device before using Log in with Assure.